October 12, 2019

It's time for a new makeup basket ~ my thoughts on the old products

October 9, 2019

Project Pan Update ~ Skin Care & Sample and Travel Size

September 30, 2019

B6 Stalogy flip through ~ September ~ and my focus for October

September 29, 2019

100 Colorful Empties Update

September 19, 2019

September Ipsy Glam Bag Plus & Summer Walmart Beauty Box

September 15, 2019

Get Ready With Me ~ take a trip through my use up #GRWM

September 11, 2019

Massive Empties ~ lots of body and skin care ~ mini-reviews

September 8, 2019

All the books August ~ which ones came out on top ~ B6 Stalogy, traveler...



I feel like I have finally found something that works well for me!  Here are products listed below and a video that helped influence me as well:

Cover for my BuJo was Dad’s – vintage




September 6, 2019

Whispers in the Dark by Chase Jackson ~ after getting through the beginning it was a good read

Whispers in the DarkWhispers in the Dark by Chase J. Jackson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Adrian starts this story out as a somewhat immature young adult. He has just finished his Master's degree and manages to land a teaching job at a prestigious school in his hometown. He and girlfriend Lea move into the house that was left to him by his late grandmother.

I almost ditched this book because I could see some glaring issues with dialog; I'm glad I continued reading. Once I hit my stride, I could see an improvement in the writing, and a sneaking suspense crept its way into the story; I couldn't stop reading with the mayhem that ensued. Ghosts, good versus evil, and watching the main character grow, made this book well worth reading.

I don't want to say more because it could ruin the story for you. Make it through the first 20-30 pages and you'll be hooked. This ended up being a good read.

View all my reviews

Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson ~ beautifully written ~ serious subject matter that keeps you turning the pages

WintergirlsWintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I sat down with this book and read it, cover-to-cover in one day. Then I had to put it aside to wait a few days before I could write this review. The book was just that stunning.

I'm not new to the works of Laurie Halse Anderson. I have read and enjoyed two other stunning titles from her, including Catalyst and Speak. Yes, this is young adult work, but it is appealing to all ages. So, I am already a fan of her writing style.

This is the story of a girl's decent into the horrors of anorexia, along with what it does to that girl's family. But before you write it off as not subject matter that would interest you, give it a try. Laurie Halse Anderson joins the ranks of Alice Hoffman and other's who write in a nearly poetic way. She builds in just enough suspense to keep you reading.

This book is a beautifully written story about a harsh, heart-breaking subject matter that will leave you thinking for days.

View all my reviews

Share