June 17, 2018

Unboxing ~ my FabFitFun Summer box 2018

June 14, 2018

Unboxing and try on ~ Stitch Fix #3

June 3, 2018

The Blood of Patriots by Bill Fulton and Jeanne Devon: Amazingly suspenseful, edge of your seat reading

The Blood of Patriots: How I Took Down an Anti-Government Militia with Beer, Bounty Hunting, and BadasseryThe Blood of Patriots: How I Took Down an Anti-Government Militia with Beer, Bounty Hunting, and Badassery by Bill Fulton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The beginning of this book was laugh out loud funny during the chronicling of his trip from down south all the way to Alaska. After arriving in Alaska and being medically retired from the military, Bill Fulton starting selling military stuff like that you can find at any army/navy store on the internet. When he opened his shop in Alaska, he hired other veterans who were suffering from a lack of direction and some PTSD. It gave them a place to call home, and a job they could be proud of. And, of course, his shop carried more than the average army/navy store. He also had body armor and other such equipment. Over time, he attracts the attention of some anti-government militia, with one who was particularly dangerous.

To say more would likely ruin the story for you since most of the above happens very early, near the beginning of the book. It takes off frighteningly fast after that and runs at a breathtaking pace. Told in the first person, since this is a memoir, you feel every prickly fear that Fulton feels and cascades of emotion. I read this book in a matter of two days. This non-fiction book is not usually my type of book, but this story was impossible to put down. This was written with journalist Jeanne Devon and you could see the skill there in the story telling. I had to keep reassuring myself that Fulton didn’t die during the course of his dealings with one particularly dangerous person (I knew he lived to tell the story).

I think this book could appeal to anyone. I almost didn’t read it, but ended up the edge of my seat, biting my nails, and worrying. Now I’ve passed the book on to my husband, and he’ll enjoy the heck out of it too.

View all my reviews

Unboxing ~ My last Boxycharm, and what is going into next giveaway

June 1, 2018

Sprezza Box ~ Double Unboxing and a Givaway ends 6 9 18

May 29, 2018

Yipee! Stitch Fix box #2 ~ unboxing and try on

May 28, 2018

Mail bag #2 ~ SampleSource and InnoGear diffuser

May 26, 2018

VLOG #1 ~ car ride, my dogs, May 2018 Allure unboxing

May 22, 2018

4 Unboxings ~ Birchbox vs Ipsy ~ April & May 2018 ~ my last ones

May 20, 2018

House of Shadows by Nicola Cornick ~ an excellent 5 star read that moves seamlessly through time

House of Shadows by Nicola Cornick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book begins in the 1600s at the death bed of Elizabeth Stewart, the Winter Queen. The story immediately fascinated me. Within the next several pages the story flashed back to the present day, with the main character, Holly, being awakened by her cell phone. Her niece was on the phone telling her that her brother was missing. She left her loveless relationship behind and went to Oxfordshire to find her brother Ben. She stays at the family’s ancestral home and an interesting cast of characters become part of her circle, including a slightly brooding character named Mark.

The story moves back and forth between the story of Elizabeth Stewart and William Craven in the 1600s and Holly, Mark, and her friends in the village in present day. Eventually, yet another historical story makes its entrance when Holly finds an old diary in the house, and the story of Lavinia Flyte becomes another part of the historical side of a super intricately woven story. To say much more would likely ruin the plot for other readers.

This story was fascinating with its intricate detailing, without being boring, as some historicals can sometimes be. The historical end of the story with Elizabeth is from a third person perspective, where you can see what everyone is thinking and saying. Since Lavinia’s diary is the source of her story, everything is told in first person point of view, with mesmerizing detail. And finally, the story from Holly’s perspective is third person limited point of view, where we see all, but know more about what Holly thinks and feels than the other characters.

The location in Oxfordshire is very atmospheric, driving home the feel of an old European town. This may have been one of the best settings I’ve enjoyed in a long time. Also, the moves back and forth through time where done seamlessly. My favorite parts, however, were the part that featured Holly and the present day.

This author is clearly very skilled. She was able to integrate three separate story lines that converge in this incredible story. Yes, there is a little bit of romance, but this is not a romance novel. Rather, it’s a fascinating story about people. I enjoyed this story so much that the characters became very really to me, especially Holly and Mark, and I didn’t want the story to end, so I put off reading the last couple chapters because I knew that a story, and characters I had grown to love, would come to an end.


View all my Goodreads reviews

click this image to go directly to the Amazon product page

Share